Register  FAQ   Search   Memberlist   Usergroups    fChat    Profile   Log in to check your private messages   Log in
What is this social bookmarks thing?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    GammaTerra Forum Index » Support View previous topic :: View next topic  

What is this social bookmarks thing?
 PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 2:42 pm Reply with quote  
Message
  Derek Holland
Professor of Ancient Lore

Joined: 03 Dec 2006
Posts: 415

When I use the "go to new post", the resulting screen is many times the width of the forum and this grey box shows up in the bottom left hand side. When I mouse over it, it expands and has "social bookmarks" in black on white and some links in yellow (all over a grey background). When I remove the mouse, the box disappears completely.

Since it only happens on this forum, I don't think it is spyware. So what might it be?
_________________
Lifetime member of the Xerces Society
http://www.xerces.org/home.htm

http://alternityrpg.net


View user's profile Send private message

 PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 4:17 am Reply with quote  
Message
  Derek Holland
Professor of Ancient Lore

Joined: 03 Dec 2006
Posts: 415

Does anyone else see this?
_________________
Lifetime member of the Xerces Society
http://www.xerces.org/home.htm

http://alternityrpg.net


View user's profile Send private message

 PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 8:07 am Reply with quote  
Message
  Wilowisp
Professor of Ancient Lore

Joined: 24 Oct 2006
Posts: 281
Location: In the Apple of God's Eye

I gotta say I don't ever. Wierd............. Confused


View user's profile Send private message

 PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 8:13 am Reply with quote  
Message
  Derek Holland
Professor of Ancient Lore

Joined: 03 Dec 2006
Posts: 415

Well it helps to describe it accurately. It is in the bottom right hand side- I can see it right now as a box 1/4" square and I know what will happen if I place the cursor over it.
_________________
Lifetime member of the Xerces Society
http://www.xerces.org/home.htm

http://alternityrpg.net


View user's profile Send private message

 PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 7:15 pm Reply with quote  
Message
  TeknoMerk
Student of Ancient Lore

Joined: 19 Jan 2007
Posts: 28
Location: Georgetown, TX

I see it too. It's a small white box above the Jump To "Go" button at the bottom left. It looks like it jumps to spam URLs.
_________________
<> TeknoMerk <>


View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

 PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 9:46 pm Reply with quote  
Message
  Scar-Lock
Student of Ancient Lore

Joined: 10 Dec 2006
Posts: 31
Location: Alberta, Canada

Wow I see it to! When I placed my cursor over it, it listed Willowisp, Teknomerk and Derek Holland usernames.

*Twilight Zone music*
_________________
Brayden L. Bull


View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger

 PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 5:16 am Reply with quote  
Message
  TeknoMerk
Student of Ancient Lore

Joined: 19 Jan 2007
Posts: 28
Location: Georgetown, TX

I don't see any usernames, but weird URLs not from this site.
_________________
<> TeknoMerk <>


View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

 PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 4:17 pm Reply with quote  
Message
  Derek Holland
Professor of Ancient Lore

Joined: 03 Dec 2006
Posts: 415

Until I get a PM from Ramjet at A.net, I am not returning here. Spyware has eaten my machine before and I don't want to deal with it again.
_________________
Lifetime member of the Xerces Society
http://www.xerces.org/home.htm

http://alternityrpg.net


View user's profile Send private message

 PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 9:34 am Reply with quote  
Message
  Gammarauder
Loremaster of the Ancients (Site Admin)

Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 236
Location: Gamma Terra

Sorry for taking so long in addressing this issue. I will look into it right now and see what I can find out.
_________________
I only have two rules:

1. The GM is always right.

2. If the GM is ever wrong, refer to Rule #1.


View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

 PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 9:50 am Reply with quote  
Message
  Gammarauder
Loremaster of the Ancients (Site Admin)

Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 236
Location: Gamma Terra

Okay....I've seen what you are talking about and I have no idea what it is for. As stated above, it appears that it is links to spam sites, most likely linked by the forum host site. I'm not sure if anything can be done with this but I would just advise to stay away from them.

I will post Derek over at A.net
_________________
I only have two rules:

1. The GM is always right.

2. If the GM is ever wrong, refer to Rule #1.


View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

Post new topic   Reply to topic    GammaTerra Forum Index » Support

Page 1 of 1
All times are GMT - 8 Hours


Display posts from previous:

  

Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum